Moody nights in Dallas

After being euphoric in Dallas, I’ve been very moody lately due to personal reasons that I will save you from hearing. In these 40 days I’ve been far from here, a lot has happened, such as mochas at the Pearl Cup (still the best expresso in the city), beers at Capitol Pub and endless Diavolas pizzas as Campania. According to my Foursquare, I had 60 nights out and 195 check ins in the last 60 days. Not bad. So here we go: a little opinionated review of the latest places I’ve been:

Barr Pool – SMU
This pool is probably one of the reasons I love this city. Excellent coaches,  open olympic pool always clean and in the right temperature. The showers aren’t new but aren’t bad either. In the middle of the SMU University, I feel young again (and that’s really useful).
Address: 6025 Ownby Dr / Dallas,TX 75275

The Pearl Cup
In a world dominated by Starbucks, I feel good having a latte where people are not trained to greet me amicably. Arrive early to get the rounded table but the window. Excellent light during sunset. I wish they had more desserts. Probably it’s good they don’t.
Address: 1900 North Henderson Avenue Dallas, TX 75206-7320 – (214) 824-9500
Open Mon-Sat 6am-9pm

The Library Bar
Get an old hotel, put some comfy leather chairs at the bar, hire a tall jazz singer  and it’s done. You’ve attracted all middle-age couples for their last drink before bedtime. Old style, bad food, very decent martinis.
Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Avenue Dallas, TX 75219-4134 – (214) 224-3144

Le Creuset, Neiman Marcus Last Call, Ann Taylor, Nike at Allen Premium Outlets
I love shopping, I love an outlet. But the Allen Premium Outlets is anything but premium. Get yourself into the air conditioned Nordstrom at Northpark Mall. Will be worth it the extra bucks. Believe me.
Address: 820 West Stacy Road Allen, TX 75013  – (972) 678-7000

Leave a comment

Filed under Bars, Shopping

Leave a Reply

