Because breakfast is the only time I can drink; best brunches in Dallas

Training for the Chicago Marathon 2010 has proved to be harder than I imagined. Running around 35 miles, 5 days a week doesn’t leave much time for drinking and nights out. My party days have become the sunday brunches, after my long run. It will start with white chardonnay and, if this is a good sunday, end in red wine by the Glass House pool where me and my neighbours traditionally barbecue. While the Dallas crowd prefer anyplace with dollar mimosas, I judge my breakfast by, hmmm higher standards. Fresh bread, good butter, perfect eggs, decent coffee. Shouldn’t be hard, no? Here we go to my favorite brunch/breakfast places in Dallas:

Dream Café
Almost hidden little gem full of Uptown folks on saturdays and sunday mornings. The healthy options are as interesting as the meat-eggs-potatoes-all-you-can-eat options. Gotta love the ricotta pancakes.
2800 Routh St, Ste 170
Dallas, TX 75201
Neighborhood: Uptown

Dream Cafe white omelette


Not so healthy options are very yummy at the Dream Cafe

Toulouse
The french bistro is full of Highland Park high heeled women and their younger daughters with boyfriends. You can dine al fresco and observe the movement on Katy Trail. Bread, butter, egg whites make me happy. The oven roasted leg chicken -if you’re more inclined to have lunch- makes me even happier. Decent steak tartare. The only semi-authentic french bistro of the city. We gotta support that.
3314 Knox St
Dallas, TX 75205
Neighborhood: Highland Park

All Good Café
Wow. This is really an Austin alike breakfast joint lost in the middle of the stores in Deep Ellum. Random people and families were here for breakfast on friday morning. Eggs, toast and tons of mexican plates like Dallas customers like it. For a good espresso, walk a block to Murray Coffee shop. It also has shows on the weekends at night.
2934 Main St
Dallas, TX 75226
(214) 742-5362

All Good Cafe - An Austin look & feel


All Good Cafe - empty but nice on a friday morning

Leave a comment

Filed under Brunch & Breakfast, Restaurants, Weekend

Leave a comment